AWWI 10th Anniversary Event: Celebrate Dr. James Walker

Join us to celebrate Dr. James Walker for his impact in renewable energy and vision for AWWI, and to launch the James A. Walker Future of Wind and Wildlife Fellowship

Dr. James A. Walker is a pioneer and visionary in wind and renewable energy. Over 10 years ago, Dr. Walker recognized that increased attention was needed to address challenges involving wind’s impacts to wildlife in order for wind power to realize its full potential. It was Dr. Walker’s vision, initiative, and persistence that drove the creation of AWWI, a unique collaboration of industry, conservation, and science communities working together to catalyze solutions to wind and wildlife issues.

Reception to Celebrate Dr. Walker

Thursday, January 17 2019
6:30 PM – 8:30 PM
The Sutter Club, 1220 9th St. Sacramento, CA, 95814

Ticket price is $100 and includes drinks and hors d’oeuvres. A government/NGO rate is available to select at checkout. Net proceeds go to support the James A. Walker Fellowship.

Local Hotel Options and Distance from Venue

Price Range: $$$

Citizen Hotel – 0.3 miles
Hyatt Regency – 0.3 miles
Kimpton Sawyer – 0.5 miles
Sheraton – 0.6 miles
Embassy Suites – 0.9 miles

Price Range: $$

Best Western Plus – 0.5 miles
Holiday Inn Express – 1.0 miles
Hawthorne Suites – 1.9 miles

Price Range: $

Econo Lodge – 1.0 miles
LaQuinta – 1.6 miles
Comfort Suites – 1.6 miles
Days Inn – 1.6 miles

The James A. Walker Future of Wind and Wildlife Fellowship

In honor of Dr. Walker’s leadership, AWWI will host a Fellowship to support an exceptional and aspiring individual in a wind-wildlife related field. The Fellow will work closely with AWWI staff and collaborators to assess progress and develop strategies and solutions to address wind’s impacts to wildlife, with the goal of fostering the next generation of leadership to advance wind energy and solve wind-wildlife challenges. AWWI intends to continue to raise funds to support an ongoing Fellowship position.

Hosted By

Diane Fellman, 
Formerly California Public Utilities Commission Ann Notthoff  Natural Resources Defense Council
Julia Levin, 
Bioenergy Association of California Dave Olsen  CAISO
Johanna Wald,
Formerly Natural Resources Defense Council David O’Neill  National Audubon Society
Bruce Bailey  UL Mike O’Sullivan  NextEra Energy Resources
Jan Blomstrann  Formerly NRG Systems Karl Rabago  Pace Energy Center
Karen Conover  DNV GL Roby Roberts  EDP Renewables
Kim Delfino  Defenders of Wildlife Sarah Rose  National Audubon Society
Ed DeMeo  Renewable Energy Consulting Services Lynn Scarlett  The Nature Conservancy
Sam Enfield  Windline Development, LLC Janea Scott California Energy Commission
John Eber  Formerly JP Morgan Rachel Shimshak  Formerly Renewable Northwest Project
Quentin Foster  Environmental Defense Fund Byron Sher  Former California Senator
Don Furman  Fix the Grid Michael Skelly  Lazard
Jan Hamrin  Formerly Center for Resource Solutions Charlie Smith  ESIG
Mike Garland  Pattern Energy Group Jan Smutny-Jones  Independent Energy Producers Association
Bob Gates  Windstream Properties Jacob Susman  EDF Renewables
Tristan Grimbert  EDF Renewables Randy Swisher  Formerly AWEA
Ken Karas  Formerly Zond/Enron Wind Bob Thresher  National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Tom Kiernan  AWEA Carl Weinberg  Weinberg Associates
Steve Lockard  TPI Composites Greg Wetstone  American Council on Renewable Energy
Lars Moller  Ventoco